The Lewis County Industrial Development Authority (IDA) is an organization that began with informal meetings beginning in 1991 by individuals interested in promoting economic growth in Lewis County.

From these early meetings, a corporation was formed at the end of 1991, and then approved as an Industrial Development Authority. On February 20, 1992, bylaws were adopted at the first organizational meeting.  

Legislation authorizing a landfill tipping fee was passed by the Missouri General Assembly in 1993 and was signed into law.  The citizens of Lewis County then showed their overwhelming support at the polls by authorizing the collection of a $1.50 per ton fee for materials deposited into the landfill in Eastern Lewis County.  This $1.50 "tipping fee" provides the revenue source for the operation of the Lewis County IDA.


  • Create long-lasting and beneficial jobs for area residents
  • Assist existing employers to become more competitive
  • Encourage new employers from within Lewis County
  • Attract new employers from outside Lewis County
  • Develop strategies for capturing more local consumer dollars
  • Access outside sources of capital
  • Assist the improvements of infrastructure, recreational and cultural facilities

Assets that are Available

Lewis County is located strategically in the heart of the Midwest in the northeast corner of Missouri.  Lewis County sits along the banks of the Mississippi River and is also home to the completed Avenue of Saints which provides four-lane access to the Interstate Highway systems.

Lewis County has a population of 10,211 and is also home to Culver-Stockton College, a prestigious four-year college that was established in 1856.  Two other four-year educational institutions, Quincy University in Quincy, Illinois and Hannibal-LaGrange University in Hannibal, Missouri are within 30 miles of Lewis County.  Lewis County is also home to an airport with a 3500 foot concrete runway.  Transportation in and out of Lewis County is easily accessible via air, road, rail and river.

Board Members

The IDA is governed by a nine person board of directors appointed to specified terms by the Lewis County Commission.  An Executive Director oversees the daily operation and is available to assist with state and federal funding applications that may be needed for infrastructure improvements and with local building requirements, local governments and local financial providers.

                                Steve Ayers,President, Canton MO

                                Jeff Janney, Vice President, Canton MO

                                Randall Sharpe, Treasurer, Lewistown MO

                                Jim Ellison, Secretary, Canton MO

                                Dan Griesbaum, Maywood MO 

                                Chris Huebotter, Lewistown MO

                                Robert Reed Miller, Bethel MO

                                Jeff O'Brien, LaGrange MO

                                Kim Schneider, LaGrange MO